Office of Catholic Education Announces Collaborative Partnership Between Conwell-Egan Catholic High School and Holy Family University

Tuesday, April 8th

On Monday, April 7, 2014 Administrators from Conwell-Egan Catholic High School (Bucks County) joined officials from the Office of Catholic Education and Holy Family University to sign an agreement that entered both schools into a collaborative educational partnership.  The agreement consists of three components, including admissions and scholarship, a university and dual credit agreement, and continuing education.

The partnership will reinforce the commitment of both schools to offer advanced educational opportunities for the personal and intellectual growth of their students and faculty.  Administrators from all three institutions offered brief remarks before signing the partnership.  Current Conwell-Egan students and Conwell-Egan graduates that now attend Holy Family University were also on hand to witness the formal signing of the agreement.

Students from Conwell-Egan Catholic High School who graduate with a 2.5 GPA or higher, with acceptable SAT/ACT scores, are guaranteed admission to Holy Family University with application fees waived. Conwell-Egan students are also able to take dual-credit classes at both Conwell-Egan and Holy Family University and earn both university credits and high school credit. Teachers, administrators, staff, and employees of Conwell-Egan are also able to enroll in Holy Family University undergraduate and graduate courses, as well as degree programs, with waived admission fees and reduced tuition.

Conwell-Egan Catholic High School was founded in 1957 as Bishop Egan High School, a co-institutional school located in Levittown (Bucks County).  In 1966, Bishop Egan was separated into two schools: Bishop Egan for boys, in Fairless Hills, and Bishop Conwell for girls, located in Levittown.  In 1993, the two schools merged to form Conwell-Egan Catholic High School. Conwell-Egan Catholic’s mission is to build character through service, achieve academic excellence, and demonstrate a commitment to lifelong learning.

Holy Family University is a premier Catholic university of the liberal arts and professions with a main campus in Northeast Philadelphia and locations in Bensalem and Newtown, Pennsylvania. It has been recognized for providing outstanding undergraduate and graduate academic programs and professional career development in a faith-inspired, values-centered community. Founded in 1954 by the Sisters of the Holy Family of Nazareth, Holy Family University offers purpose-driven, engaged students the knowledge, values, and skills to help them find their place and purpose in today’s workplace and world.

# # #

Editor’s Note: For information about Conwell-Egan Catholic High School please visit  For information about Holy Family University please visit