Archdiocesan Elementary Schools Participate in 3rd Annual Arts Festivals

Friday, April 17th

Elementary Schools throughout the Archdiocese of Philadelphia have prepared to showcase their talent and creativity this spring at Arts Festivals held in the five county region. They are sponsored by the Office of Catholic Education. During the Arts Festivals, students will display works reflective of the Archdiocesan K-8 art curriculum. Additionally, students will demonstrate talents in instrumental and choral music as well as dance and theatre arts performances.

Sister Edward William Quinn, IHM, Director of Elementary Curriculum, Instruction and Staff Development for the Office of Catholic Education said, “As we visit our elementary schools, we see the many accomplishments of our teachers and students in the arts. We listen to the wonderful sounds of instrumental and vocal groups. We see the talents of dance groups and are amazed at the artistic and written “masterpieces” displayed in school hallways. The arts are alive and well in the Archdiocesan elementary schools and are a part of the curriculum for all students.”

Eight schools will participate at the Arts Festival being held at Archbishop Wood High School (Bucks County) including: Mary, Mother of the Redeemer School in North Wales (Montgomery County), Nativity of Our Lord School in Warminster (Bucks County), Our Lady of Good Counsel School in Southampton (Bucks County), Our Lady of Mount Carmel School in Doylestown (Bucks County), Saint Dominic School (Philadelphia), Saint Isidore School in Quakertown (Bucks County) Saint Joseph the Protector School in Glenside (Montgomery County), and Saint Katherine Drexel Regional School in Holland (Bucks County).

At Archbishop Carroll High School (Delaware County) 11 schools will participate including: Cardinal John Foley Regional School in Havertown (Delaware County), Drexel Neumann Academy in Chester (Delaware County), Holy Cross School in Springfield (Delaware County), Holy Rosary Regional School in Plymouth Meeting (Montgomery County), Sacred Heart School in Havertown (Delaware County), Saint Anastasia School in Newtown Square (Delaware County), Saint Bernadette of Lourdes School in Drexel Hill (Delaware County), Saint Dorothy School in Drexel Hill (Delaware County), Saint Francis de Sales School in Aston (Delaware County), Saint Mary Magdalen School in Media (Delaware County), and Saints Peter and Paul School in West Chester (Chester County).