26 Archdiocesan Elementary Schools and Students Nationally Recognized During First in Math® Award Ceremony

Wednesday, June 10th

Twenty-six Archdiocese of Philadelphia parish and regional elementary schools, whose students and educators have ranked nationally in the First In Math® online program were honored during a local awards ceremony. The awards were presented by Sister Edward William Quinn, IHM, Director of Elementary Curriculum, Instruction and Staff Development for the Office of Catholic Education.

The ceremony recognized students and educators from the Archdiocese of Philadelphia in five categories: schools that placed in the top 100 schools ranking, teams that placed in the national Top 100 team rankings, educators that placed in the top 100 national educators ranking, family players that placed in the top 100 family member rankings and individual players that placed in the top 100 player rankings.

This year, 20 Archdiocesan elementary schools placed in the National Top 100 Schools Ranking for First In Math® out of approximately 5,000 schools participating nationally. Additionally, Saint Martin of Tours School had the fourth place educator nationally and Saint Laurence Parish School and Mother of Providence Regional Schools are ranked in the Top 20 Nationally for the First In Math® team category.

Dr. Robert Sun (Saint Francis de Sales School, Class of 1962) invented the 24 Game®in 1988. In 2002, the 24 Game®expanded and moved to the internet under the title First in Math®. The online program begins August 1st and ends April 30th each year.  Students compete within their school, with other schools in the Archdiocese, with over 1,000 schools in Pennsylvania and over 5,000 schools nationwide.  


List of school’s honored during the award ceremony:

– Blessed Teresa of Calcutta School (Montgomery County)
– Blessed Virgin Mary School (Delaware County)- DePaul Catholic School, Independence Mission School (Philadelphia)
– Mother of Providence Regional Catholic School (Delaware County)
– Notre Dame de Lourdes School (Delaware County)
– Saints Philip and James School (Chester County)
– Saint Aloysius School (Montgomery County)
– Saint Charles Borromeo School (Bucks County)
– Saint Dorothy School (Delaware County)
– Saint Francis de Sales School (Philadelphia)
– Saint Francis Xavier School (Philadelphia)
– Saint Laurence School (Delaware County)
– Saint Michael the Archangel School (Bucks County)
– Saint Patrick School
– Saint Peter the Apostle School (Philadelphia)
– Saint Pio Regional Catholic School (Philadelphia)
– Saint Thomas the Apostle School (Delaware County)
– Saint Veronica School, Independence Mission School (Philadelphia)
– Saint Barnabas School, Independence Mission School (Philadelphia)
– Saint Mary Magdalen School (Delaware County)
– Saint Cyril of Alexandria, Independence Mission School (Delaware County)
– Saint Martin of Tours School, Independence Mission School (Philadelphia)
– Saint Eugene School (Delaware County)
– Saint Monica School (Philadelphia)
– Maternity Blessed Virgin Mary School (Philadelphia)
– Our Lady of Mount Carmel School (Bucks County)

# # #