37 Eighth Grade Students Named 2016 Neumann Scholars to Attend Archdiocesan High Schools in the Fall

Monday, February 8th

2016 marks the 21st year Neumann Scholarships have been sponsored by the Connelly Foundation

The Archdiocese of Philadelphia Office of Catholic Education is proud to announce that 37 current eighth grade students are this year’s recipients of the Neumann Scholarship sponsored by the Connelly Foundation. The scholarship is an annual initiative, which honors the founder of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia’s Parochial School System, Saint John Neumann, the fourth Bishop of Philadelphia.

Mrs. Debra Brillante, Superintendent of Elementary Schools in the Archdiocese said, “All of us in the Office of Catholic Education are immensely proud of the newest Neumann Scholars and we pray that their futures in our Archdiocesan High Schools will be as successful and fruitful as their time has been at the elementary school level. We are extremely grateful to the Connelly Foundation for their tireless commitment to the students of our Archdiocese and their dedication to Catholic Education as a whole. We look forward to seeing great accomplishments from the Class of 2020.”

The Connelly Foundation Neumann Scholars Program was developed in 1994. This scholarship program identifies academically talented eighth grade students through an independently administered competitive examination and provides four year scholarships to attend any of the 17 high schools of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. Each year approximately 35 scholarships are awarded. The distribution of the scholarships is determined by the number of students who sit for the Neumann Scholarship Test in each county.


Schools are categorized below according to county. The scholars’ names are in alphabetical order and their current elementary school is provided in parentheses.


Archbishop Wood High School
Justin Baker (Saint Jude Catholic Education Center)
Anna Casey (Queen of Angels Regional Catholic School)
Timothy Schulth (Saint Katherine Drexel Regional Catholic School)


Bishop Shanahan High School
Shannon Baker (Holy Family School)
Elizabeth Howell (Pope John Paul II Elementary School)
Lauren Bradley (Saints Philip and James School)
Mia Bellafante (Saint Elizabeth Catholic School)
Paul Ringenbach (Saint Elizabeth Catholic School)


Archbishop John Carroll High School
John Goehringer (Visitation B.V.M. School)
Ryan Hoffman (Saint Norbert Catholic School)
Audra Quigley (Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School)
Skylar Smith (Saint Mary Interparochial School)

Cardinal O’Hara High School
Isabelle Chau (Saint Anastasia Catholic School)
Margaret Salter (Sacred Heart Catholic School)
David Saunders (Notre Dame De Lourdes)
Kathleen Till (Saint Anastasia Catholic School)

Monsignor Bonner and Archbishop Prendergast Catholic High School
Puja Das (Saint Laurence Catholic School)
Gavin Woodward (Saint Eugene Catholic School)


Bishop McDevitt High School
Siobhan Loughney (Saint Joseph the Protector Regional Catholic School)

Lansdale Catholic High School
Sean Cole (Saint Jude Catholic Education Center)
Ciara Coulter (Saint Jude Catholic Education Center)
Maria DiRienzo (Saint Jude Catholic Education Center)
Aidan Moore (Mater Dei Catholic School)
Anthony Saldutti (Holy Rosary Regional Catholic School)

Pope John Paul II High School
Owen Ley (Holy Cross Regional Catholic School)
George McNeil (Holy Rosary Regional Catholic School)

City and County of Philadelphia

Archbishop Ryan High School
Madison Boyd (Saint Katherine of Siena Catholic School – Philadelphia)
Ryan Elkins (Saint Charles Borromeo Catholic School)
Lara Serna (Saint Charles Borromeo Catholic School)
Abigail Woods (Our Lady of Calvary Catholic School)

Father Judge High School for Boys
Matthew Comas (Saint Christopher Catholic School)
Brendan McLernan (Saint Christopher Catholic School)

John W. Hallahan Catholic Girls’ High School
Jacqueline Coval (Saint Mary Interparochial School)

Roman Catholic High School for Boys
Christopher Krapp (Saint Matthew Catholic School)
Ethan Lafond (Saint Joseph the Protector Regional Catholic School)
Tai Shannon (Saint Francis De Sales – Philadelphia)

Saint Hubert Catholic High School for Girls
Erin Fitzpatrick (Resurrection Regional Catholic School)

# # #

Editor’s Note: For more information on Catholic Schools in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia please visit https://aopcatholicschools.org/. For more information on Faith in the Future please visit http://www.faithinthefuture.com/.