37 Senior Neumann Scholars from the Class of 2016 to be Honored During Celebration of Excellence

Sunday, April 24th

These 37 Neumann Scholars have attended Archdiocesan high schools for the last four years on scholarships awarded by the Connelly Foundation

 The Archdiocese of Philadelphia’s Office of Catholic Education (OCE) is proud to announce that 37 graduating seniors will be recognized by the Connelly Foundation at a Celebration of Excellence to include a Eucharistic service and a celebratory luncheon at Saint Joseph’s University.


Sunday, April 24, 2016

11:00 a.m. (Eucharistic Service)

Saint Joseph’s University

Chapel of St. Joseph

City Avenue and Cardinal Avenue

Philadelphia, PA 19131



Sister Maureen McDermott, I.H.M., Ph.D., Superintendent of Secondary Schools said, “The Neumann Scholars in the graduating Class of 2016 have very bright futures ahead of them in college and beyond.  We in the Office of Catholic Education along with their parents, teachers, administrators, and loved ones are immensely proud of their accomplishments to date. We also express our continued gratitude to the Connelly Foundation for its tireless commitment to the students of our Archdiocese and belief in the gift of a Catholic Education.  As with all of our graduates, we offer prayerful best wishes to the members of the Class of 2016 in all of their future endeavors.”


On Sunday, April 24th, in addition to honoring the Class of 2016 Neumann Scholars, at 3:00 p.m. the Connelly Foundation will hold the installation Mass for the 37 Class of 2020 Neumann Scholars in the Chapel of St. Joseph at Saint Joseph’s University.  Most Reverend Michael J. Fitzgerald, Auxiliary Bishop who oversees Catholic Education in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia, will preside over the Installation.


The Connelly Foundation Neumann Scholars Program was launched in 1994.  This scholarship program identifies academically talented eighth grade students through an independently administered competitive examination and provides four year scholarships to attend any of the 17 high schools of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia.  Each year approximately 35 scholarships are awarded.  The distribution of the scholarships is determined by the number of students who sit for the Neumann Scholarship Test in each county.


Connelly Foundation is proud to highlight accomplishments of the 37 Neumann Scholars of the Class of 2016:


  • These Neumann Scholars rank within the top 3% of students in the Archdiocesan high schools
  • Five rank number one in their respective high school classes
  • SAT Critical Reading and Math scores average 1447 with a high score of 1600
  • Two students are National Merit Finalists and ten students are National Merit Commended Scholars


These graduates have been accepted to prestigious colleges and universities including the following institutions:


Baylor University                                                        Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Boston College                                                           Saint Joseph’s University

Bryn Mawr College                                                    Swarthmore College

Bucknell University                                                    Temple University

Case Western Reserve University                               U.S. Military Academy – West Point

Drexel University                                                        University of Notre Dame

Fordham University                                                    University of Pennsylvania

LaSalle University                                                      University of Pittsburgh

Lehigh University                                                       University of Virginia

Penn State University – Schreyer Honors College     Villanova University



Schools are categorized below according to county.  The scholars’ names are in alphabetical order.



Archbishop Wood High School

Evelyn Craney – National Merit Commended

Christopher Dern – National Merit Commended

Lucas Dyke – National Merit Commended

Sean Finnegan

Thomas Funk

Christian Morris

Conwell-Egan Catholic High School

Theresa Konnovitch

Olivia Schuler



Bishop Shanahan High School

Stephen Anderson

R. Joseph Blajda, Jr. – National Merit Commended

James Hennessy – National Merit Finalist

Salena Ringenbach – National Merit Commended

Joanna Skros


Archbishop John Carroll High School

Kyle Cummings

Mary Catherine Jones

William Lundeen

Emmalyn (Emma) Pimentel

Brett Schratz

Cardinal O’Hara High School

Joseph DeRita

Justin Lombardi

Monsignor Bonner and Archbishop Prendergast Catholic High School

Emily Forsyth


Lansdale Catholic High School

Shannon Cikowski – National Merit Commended

Maggie Hansell

Pope John Paul II High School

Beck Fuga – National Merit Commended

Cassandra McHugh


Archbishop Ryan High School

Nicholas Novotny

Daniel Quedenfeld

Adrian Toledo

Father Judge High School for Boys

Ryan Green – National Merit Commended

John W. Hallahan Catholic Girls’ High School

Grace Bridy – National Merit Commended

Little Flower Catholic High School for Girls

Jamie Galanaugh

Roman Catholic High School for Boys

Michael Frye – National Merit Finalist

Brendan Guy – National Merit Commended

Daniel Seddon

Philemon Tedros

Brandon Texeira

Saint Hubert Catholic High School for Girls

Katy Vieira

# # #