Archdiocese of Philadelphia Honors Distinguished Scholars from Catholic Secondary Schools at the 40th Annual Academic Honors Convocation

Monday, May 13th

Archbishop Charles J. Chaput, O.F.M. Cap. will be the main celebrant during a Liturgy of the Word preceding the 40th Annual Academic Honors Convocation at the Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul. The 2019 All Catholic Chorus will provide the liturgical music, under the direction of Conductor, Mr. Thomas Kuchler and accompanied by Organist, Mrs. Cheryl Manfredonia.

This event honors graduating seniors from 33 Archdiocesan and private Catholic high schools in the five-county region for achieving academic excellence throughout their high school years.

Thursday, May 16, 2019

6:15 p.m. (Procession)

6:30 p.m. (Liturgy of the Word)

Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul

18th Street and the Benjamin Franklin Parkway

Philadelphia, PA 19103

The students, who are ranked in the top 3% of their senior class, will be honored for their academic success and dedication to their studies.  This year, 144 students are included in the elite group according to their cumulative ranking at the end of the first semester of their senior year. The 40th Annual Academic Honors Convocation will be streamed in real-time utilizing Facebook Live via the Archdiocese of Philadelphia Schools’ Facebook page.

Sister Maureen McDermott, IHM, Ph.D., Superintendent of Secondary Schools for the Archdiocese said, “As the class of 2019 prepares for its future endeavors the Archdiocesan Academic Honors Convocation is an honored tradition that provides us, as administrators and teachers, with a moment to commend and recognize the incredible achievements these exceptional students have earned through the support of their loved ones, during their high school careers.

As graduating seniors throughout the Archdiocese of Philadelphia prepare for their Baccalaureate Masses and Commencement Exercises we offer them prayerful best wishes for a successful, meaningful, and happy future.”

Zephaniah Sainta a senior at Saint Hubert Catholic High School for Girls in the Holmesburg section of Northeast Philadelphia is the keynote student speaker for this year’s Convocation. In addition to her studies at Saint Hubert’s, she is part of a dual-enrollment program with Neumann University where she is taking a course in public speaking. She was chosen from among several student honorees who applied for this distinction.  The daughter of Pierre Sainta and Nicole Telismon, Zephaniah attended Saint Dominic Parish Elementary School, also in the Holmesburg section of Northeast Philadelphia.

Ms. Sainta dedicates much of her time to her studies both inside and outside of school, but she can also be found in the halls of Saint Hubert after hours participating in activities such as the Community Service Corps, the Yearbook Committee, the Fall Musical, the Drama Club, and Intramural Flag Football. She serves as Vice President of the Christus Vincit chapter of the National Honors Society and as a senior delegate for Saint Hubert’s Bambie Ambassadors. Her interests outside of academia lie mainly in writing and the arts. In the coming months, she will be attending the University of Pennsylvania and pursuing her interests in psychology and communications through a double major, as well as a minor in French language or creative writing.

Those individuals with asterisks after their names are in the Connelly Foundation Neumann Scholars Program. Initiated in 1995, this scholarship program identifies academically talented eighth grade students through an independently administered competitive examination and provides four year scholarships to attend any Archdiocesan high school.


(Schools are categorized below alphabetically according to county)


Archbishop Wood High School 

Connor J. Ford  *

Ellen A. Fleming

Haley L. Nguyen

Kaitlin C. McGowan

Amanda K. McKenney

Kim Leigh D. Tursi

Savannah R. Mueller

Conwell-Egan Catholic High School

Seamus Smiley

Maria Michele DelPo

Amber Stansfield

Holy Ghost Preparatory School

Michael Calcagni

Keegan Pietrak

Thomas Barbaro

Andrew Beck

Nicholas Evans

Villa Joseph Marie High School 

Anne Jeanette Ardito

Caroline J. Brandt


Bishop Shanahan High School 

Bridget A. O’Donnell  *

Cristina G. DeJong

Gillian A. Porter

Hailey C. Trampel

Mason M. Rothstein

Michael R. Prieto  *

Nicholas Z. Downing

Riley T. Brady  *

Devon Preparatory School

James R. Thomas

Malvern Preparatory School

Will Reckmeyer

Adam Morys

Gregory Gaasche

Stephen Fratamico

Villa Maria Academy High School

Olivia H. Hall

Riley S. Miller

Mackenzie Stockton


Academy of Notre Dame de Namur

Margaret Rose Quirk

Jessica Suzanne Schneider

Isabelle Juliet Molinari

Archbishop Carroll High School

Daniel J. Fohner

Jacob E. Antonello  *

Noelle R. Arpea

Alexander J. Prusacki

Brandon M. Abiuso  *

John F. Higgins  *

Isabella H. Lechtenberg  *

Bridget E. Llull  *

Isabella G. Pimentel

Cardinal O’Hara High School 

Jennifer C. Eburuoh

Elizabeth A. Otruba

Carolena M. Crognale

Matthew P. Belfatto

Katelynn R. Miraglia

Joseph N. Pham

Samantha E. Polito

Monsignor Bonner and Archbishop Prendergast High School

Cassandra Howard

Diane Kim

Lauren Faulkner

Madeline Hill

John J. Saunders

Kelli Curran

Courtney Thornton

Sacred Heart Academy

Molly Murphy

Elizabeth Davis


Bishop McDevitt High School

Henry Nguyen

Patricia Templeton

Abigail Obfenda

Gwynedd Mercy Academy High School

Ann E. Sinclair

Caitlin M. Fitzpatrick

Ryan S. Stratton

Lansdale Catholic High School

Benjamin T. Ahern  *

Olivia A. Marquardt

Shannon R. Carr  *

Amanda A. Coraluzzi

Casey E. Ford  * 

La Salle College High School 

James Min Crovo

Matthew John Earley

Max Edward Flynn

Casey Reid Jefferis

Joseph Patrick LaMorte

Martin Theodore Manion

Michael Gordon McDonough

Peter Shea Taylor

Merion Mercy Academy

Madison R. Boylan

Carly A. Gerace

Isabella J. Santori

Mount Saint Joseph Academy 

Brigid O’Neill

Gabriella Ford

Natalie Walker

Pope John Paul II High School

Thomas M. Heibeck  *

Molly C. Moore

Zachary M. Murtaugh

Abigail M. Galella

Jason T. Kost  *

John Paul Schiele

Saint Basil Academy

Siena Wanders

Teressa White


Archbishop Ryan High School

David Eniola  *

Michael Cellucci

James Crossfield

Mary Grace Meredith  *

Hailey Judith Hurst

Kylie Nicole Snellbaker

Jiajian Huang

Ava Rose Brakoniecki

Charles Crossfield

Cristo Rey Philadelphia High School

Salimata Diallo

Rashel Batista

Angel Young

Father Judge High School for Boys

Remy R. Garant

Matthew D. Beck

Matthew D. Purcell  *

Edison Felipe

Shamus E. Ehersmann

John W. Hallahan Catholic Girls’ High School

Julia Alexandrakis

Brigid Hurst  *

Bejee Paleng

Little Flower Catholic High School for Girls

Erin V. Birney

Jillian L. Halbiger

Kristina Tran

Claude-Erika Ekobeni

Mercy Career & Technical High School

Richard S. Torelli

Sana’i K. Parker

Nazareth Academy High School

Julia Emma Davis

Isabella C. Spinelli

Caitlin Felicity Grabowski

Roman Catholic High School for Boys

Nicholas Robert Hamilton

George W. Greeby

Brandon Walsh Brophy

Anthony Joseph Pantalone

Ryan Truong  *

Matthew Peter Phares

Saint Hubert Catholic High School for Girls

Zephaniah Sainta

Mary Darrah

Emma Licsauer  *

Elizabeth Colpe 

Saints John Neumann-Maria Goretti Catholic High School

Jessie Chen

Joseph A. Messina

Kieran E. Johnson

Saint Joseph’s Preparatory School

Jordan C. Busza

Jacob G. DeAnnuntis

Daniel J. DiSandro

Brett A. Geiss

John C. Thorell

West Catholic Preparatory High School

Gabrielle Bioteau

Seblah Alfa

Erika A. Cordova-Canas

 # # #

Editor’s Note:  For more information on Catholic Schools in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia please visit  For more information on Faith in the Future please visit